Saturday, October 11, 2008

By The Numbers...Who's the Best?

When you think of a football jersey number, for example, the greatest player to wear the #22: who do you think of? Emmitt Smith RB Dallas Cowboys or Doug Flutie QB Boston College? Over the next few weeks, I will stir up those arguments and try to go from 1 to 99. Today I tackle the numbers 1 to 5....


Winner: Warren Moon QB (Houston, Minnesota, Seattle and KC)

Hall of Fame Quaterback and two league star of both the CFL and NFL. His best years came while he was leading the Houston Oilers. 9 time Pro Bowler, almost 50,000 passing yards (4th All time), also won the Grey Cup while in the CFL.

Runner up: Anthony Carter WR (Michigan 1979-1982)

3 time All American, 4th in Heisman Trophy ballot his senior season. Finished with 3,076 yards. Electrified opponents with pure speed as a WR and Punt returner.


Winner: Deion Sanders DB (Florida State Seminoles 1986-1989)

Two time All American, 14 Career interceptions, Jim Thorpe award winner in 1988. Dynamic punt returner who had the ability to go the distance everytime he touched the ball. Jersey was retired by FSU in 1995.

Runner up: Charles Woodson DB (Michigan Wolverines 1995-1997)

Heisman Trophy winner in 1997. Bronco Nagurksi award winner. 3 time All Big Ten player, two-time All American. Two time Chevrolet Defensive player of the year, Woodson was also the Jim Thorpe award winner in 1997. Helped team win share of National Championship that year.


Winner: Carson Palmer QB (USC Trojans 1998-2002)

Heisman trophy winner 2002. Only the second freshman ever to be named starting QB for the Trojans. PAC-10 All Time leading passer with over 11,000 yds.

Runner Up:
Joe Montana QB (Notre Dame 1974-1979)

"The Comback Kid" Led the Fighting Irish to the National Title in 1978 with a win over Texas in the Cotton Bowl. Had reputation of coming in late in the game and leading the Irish to victory before finally getting the role as starting QB in 1977.

Honorable Mention: Bronko Nagurski FB (Chicago Bears 1930-1937, 1943)

The only player in the history of the NFL to be named All Pro in 3 different positions.
Elected to Hall of Fame in 1963. Number 3 retired by the Bears.


Winner: Brett Farve QB (Atlanta 1991, Green Bay 1992-2007, New York Jets 2008-)

Only player to win 3 consecutive League MVPs. 9 time Pro Bowler. Most wins by any QB in history. All time leader in TDs, completions, attempts, and interceptions. Brett Farve has 257 consecutive starts, the most in the history of the NFL.

Runner Up:

No one else comes to mind that deserves mention...


Winner: Reggie Bush RB (USC 2003-2005)

Heisman Trophy, Doak Walker and Watler Camp award winner in 2005. AP Player of the Year 2005. In 2005, has over 2,600 all purpose yards and 18 TDs. PAC-10 Offensive Player of the Year. The 12th player in the history of NCAA to surpass 2,000 all purpose yards twice. One of the top 25 NCAA players of All Time.

Runner Up: Paul Hornung QB, HB (Notre Dame 1954-1956, Green Bay Packers 1957-1962, 64-66)

The "Golden Boy" was the only player ever to be awarded the Heisman trophy from a losing team. In 1956 Notre Dame went 2-8. Hornung played several postions on Offense and played Defense and was a kicker for the Irish. Hornung was the No. 1 overall draft pick in 1957. He led the league in scoring for three consecutive years (1959-61). He held the record for the most points scored in a season (176) until 2006. Two time Pro Bowler, All American and League MVP. Elected to both the College and NFL Football Hall of Fame.

Honorable Mention: Donovan McNabb QB (Syracuse 1994-1998, Philadelphia Eagles 1999-)

Big East Offensive Player of the Decade. Big East record for TDs, passing yards and offensive yeards. Two time Pro Bowl selection.

Tomorrow I will recap Saturday's big matchups and hit number 6-10 on the All Time Jersey list. Fall out....


micmudd said...

You forgot 00 (aught-O), Jim Otto, HoF center for the Raiders.

Diesel10 said...

Good one Mic...sure did forget about the big OO.